A Parent’s Guide to National Curriculum Assessment

A Parent’s Guide to National Curriculum Levels At East Whitby Academy

From Year 1 all children are assessed against the National Curriculum. The teachers and your children will often talk about their ‘ability’ in Maths, Reading and Writing and whether pupils are at Age Related Expectations (ARE)

Below are some frequently asked questions and answers to help you understand National Curriculum Assessment and your child’s report.

What are the Key Stages?

Primary School  is made up of 2 Key Stages:

  • Key Stage 1  Year 1 and Year 2
  • Key Stage 2  Years 3 - 6

What do letters and numbers mean?

Children will now be graded in three bands

  1. Working below expected (belowARE)
  2. Working at expected (ARE)
  3. Working at greater depth (GD)